CLERGY

Bishop of Arizona
The Right Reverend
Kirk Stevan Smith, Ph.D, D. D.
bishop@azdiocese.org
Biography

Dean
The Very Reverend
Troy Mendez
troy@trinitycathedral.com
Biography

Associate for Community Life
The Reverend
Martha D. Johns
martha@trinitycathedral.com
Biography

Cathedral Deacon
The Reverend
Myra Kingsley
myra@trinitycathedral.com
Biography

STAFF

Director of Operations
Finance, Billing, Scheduling
Cheryl Hamati
cheryl@trinitycathedral.com

Office & Communications Manager
Membership Records, Purchasing
Gary Gorman
gary@trinitycathedral.com

Cathedral Shop Manager
Cyndi Smith
theshop@trinitycathedral.com

Canon Musician
Cathedral Music and
Music Event Scheduling
Erik Goldstrom
erik@trinitycathedral.com

Campus Coordinator
Cliff Golden
cliff@trinitycathedral.com

The Cathedral Clergy and Terminology
The Episcopal Church has somewhat complex terminology for its clergy. It has inherited and maintained the Catholic three-fold order of bishop, priest, and deacon. Historically, Jesus left authority to his Apostles, who in turn passed it on at their death to the first generation of bishops. Early in the life of the growing Church, the Apostles needed practical help in serving their communities. They instituted the order of deacon to be a ministry of service. As the Church grew it faced a bishop shortage and so the bishops began to delegate their leadership authority to a new order of presbyter, or priest.

Trinity Cathedral is the church where the Bishop of Arizona has his chair (cathedra). The senior priest is called the Dean – originally meaning a leader of ten. Other priests on staff are known as Canons because they are appointed for the good order of the wider church of the diocese, a geographic area covered by a single bishop. The bishop exercises the ministry of authority and pastoral oversight. Priests exercise the ministry of sacramental and pastoral leadership, preaching and teaching. Deacons assist the bishop through their ministry of service and prophetic witness bridging between Church and World.

In written correspondence the bishop is referred to as the Right Reverend —, the Dean as the Very Reverend —, priests and deacons as the Reverend —, except for the Archdeacon who is the Venerable —. In spoken address use Bishop, or Deacon before the personal name. When addressing a woman priest use Canon and personal name if appropriate, or Priest and personal name. When speaking to a male priest use Canon or Father and personal name.